

February 28,2024

Des Plaines Community Foundation Scholarship Program

Scholarship Guidelines:

- Five scholarships of \$1,500 each will be awarded, four traditional college/university education and one vocational/trade scholarship.
- Must be a resident of Des Plaines, IL.
- University/college scholarship applicants must have a 3.0 GPA or above. Vocational applicants no minimum GPA requirement.
- High school seniors applying to or enrolled in an accredited undergraduate program at a college, university, or vocational/technical institution during the fall semester of 2023 to be eligible (minimum 12 credit hours per semester; graduate programs do not qualify).
- Foundation employees, board members, scholarship committee members, and their family members are not eligible.
- Applications and required paperwork <u>must be received by April 11,</u> <u>2024</u>, Applications received after April 11, 2024 will not be considered.
- Scholarship recipients will be notified by Wednesday, May 1, 2024.

Required Paperwork:

- Completed scholarship program application.
- A statement of personal goals (100 words maximum).
- An essay on how you have participated in community service and or work to support you and your family detailing how this commitment has prepared you for your future (500 words maximum).
- Copy of your most recent High School transcript that <u>includes your</u> <u>cumulative GPA.</u>

<u>Missing required paperwork will automatically disqualify your submission</u> <u>from the review process.</u> Do not send any additional documentation beyond the required documentation listed above, it will not be considered in the review process. Applications and required paperwork can be mailed or emailed.

Mail: Des Plaines Community Foundation 1420 Miner St. Room 502A Des Plaines, IL 60016 Attn: Scholarship Program

Email: application, essay, goal statement and transcript to <u>DPCFScholarship@gmail.com</u>. Please include all documentation in one email.

BOARD OF TRUSTEES

Chris Pesche, Past President

Rich Holke, President

Mark Lucaccioni, Vice President

Dina Argus Secretary and Treasurer

TRUSTEES

Robert Argus

Paul Bartholomae

Sunny Cherian

Sherry Gardner

Jan Goczkowski

Sandra Hansen

Chris Hassett

Bob Lewandowski

Chris Peterson

Kim Potokar

Kathy Puetz

Dick Sayad, Alderman

Jody Whalen

Rosemary S. Argus Executive Director