The Danube Swabians Recently Presented the Des Plaines Community Foundation with a Check for $3,000

Pictured are some of the Des Plaines Community Foundation’s twenty Board Trustees: Back row (from left to right) are Patrick J. Devereaux, Siete 7, Jan Goczkowski, Century 21, Sandra Hansen, Harris Bank, Robert Argus, United Airlines., and Pastor Chuck Reid, Bethesda Worshp Center. Front row (from left to right) are Rosemary Argus, Director of the Foundation and Eckhard Blaumueller, President of the Danube Swabians.

Eckhard Blaumueller, president of the Danube Swabians, recently presented the Des Plaines Community Foundation with a check for $3,000.

“The Danube Swabians have been very generous this year, donating $3500-plus to the Self Help Closet & Pantry and now another $3,000 to the Des Plaines Community Foundation,” said Rosemary Argus, executive director. “The Des Plaines Community Foundation is a non-for-profit 501c3 organization which helps the people who work and live in Des Plaines. The Foundation has no paid employees because the Foundation is all volunteers. They can provide $12 worth of services for every $1 donated.”

The Des Plaines Community Foundation through its Neighbors Helping Neighbors program provides transportation for the elderly and the disabled, young and old. The Foundation puts up wheelchair ramps (built by Maine West Building Trades students) and installs Knox Boxes for needy individuals. The Foundation also drives individuals to pantries for food, does yard work and light housework for the disabled and elderly. The Des Plaines Community Foundation has helped the poor with emergency repairs, such as broken toilets, sinks in disrepair, leaky roofs, broken windows, etc. Supplies are paid for by the Foundation, with most of the work being done by volunteers.

The Des Plaines Community Foundation has paid for safe bicycle helmets for children and paid for motivational meetings for high school students to encourage leadership skills.

This year in March the Des Plaines Community Foundation will provide four $1500 scholarships to qualified Des Plaines youths, three for Oakton Community College and one for Harper Community College.